Statement of Secretary Steven T. Mnuchin on the 75th Anniversary of the Liberation of Auschwitz

“Today, I was honored to represent President Trump as I led the United States Delegation attending the 75th Anniversary of the Liberation of Auschwitz on this International Holocaust Remembrance Day. I was proud to deliver the President’s Proclamation marking this solemn day to President Andrej Duda, and I want to thank him, the Republic of Poland, and the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum for bringing together Holocaust survivors, families and Jewish and global leaders to commemorate this historic day at this sacred place. 

“We must never forget what happened 75 years ago, when the Nazi regime carried out the systematic extermination of more than six million Jews. Nazis targeted innocent Jews solely because of their religious beliefs.

“The United States and all other countries must work together to fight for all religious freedoms, justice for the Jewish people, and combating anti-Semitism wherever it appears. We must be committed to honoring the history of the Holocaust so these atrocities never occur ever again to any people anywhere in the world.”

The Honorable Steven T. Mnuchin, Secretary of the Treasury, led the delegation, which included:

  1. Georgette Mosbacher, U.S. Ambassador to Poland  
  2. J. Randolph Evans, U.S. Ambassador to Luxembourg
  3. Jeffrey Ross Gunter, U.S. Ambassador to Iceland
  4. Bonnie Glick, Deputy USAID Administrator
  5. Monica Crowley, Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Public Affairs
  6. Cherrie Daniels, Special Envoy for Holocaust Issues, Department of State
  7. Philip Reeker, State Department Acting Assistant Secretary for EUR
  8. Matt Boyse, State Department Deputy Assistant Secretary for EUR
  9. Patrick Slowinski, U.S. Consul General in Krakow
  10. Thomas Rose, Senior Advisor to the Vice President, OVP
  11. Ellie Cohanim, Deputy Special Envoy for Countering Anti-Semitism, Department of State 



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *