FTC Amends its Rules of Practice to Allow Delegation of Limited Authority When the Commission Lacks a Quorum

The Federal Trade Commission amended its Rules of Practice to grant authority to the agency’s commissioners or general counsel under very limited circumstances to take action such as accepting settlements in the event that the Commission lacks a quorum. The amendment to Commission Rule 0.7 delegates such authority for limited purposes in rare cases such […]

Statement by Acting FTC Chairman Maureen K. Ohlhausen Regarding Announcement of the President’s Intent to Nominate Her to the U.S. Court of Federal Claims

“I am honored that the President has expressed his intent to nominate me to be a judge on the U.S. Court of Federal Claims, one of the oldest federal courts in our nation. In the meantime, I will continue to serve at the Federal Trade Commission until a time when I may be so fortunate […]

Former FTC Chairman Janet D. Steiger Named Recipient of 2014 Kirkpatrick Award

Federal Trade Commission Chairwoman Edith Ramirez today named former FTC Chairman Janet Dempsey Steiger the 2014 recipient of the Miles W. Kirkpatrick Award for Lifetime FTC Achievement, honoring her steadfast commitment to public service and her many significant contributions to the agency. “Chairman Steiger was an extraordinary public servant who provided inspiring leadership during her […]