More than 20 Current and Former FTC Officials Will Participate in Agency’s 100th Anniversary Symposium on Nov. 7

More than 20 current and former Federal Trade Commission officials will take part in a public symposium on Nov. 7, 2014 to celebrate the FTC’s 100th anniversary in Washington, D.C. The symposium will feature panel discussions examining the Commission’s history of protecting consumers and promoting competition, as well as the agency’s future.

Among those participating in the daylong event will be current and former FTC Chairmen, Commissioners and Directors, as well as legal scholars. They will hold a series of panel discussions covering FTC topics such as enforcement, research and advocacy, remedies, and business guidance and consumer education.

The symposium will conclude with a roundtable discussion, moderated by current Chairwoman Edith Ramirez, and featuring seven former FTC Chairmen:

  • Jon Leibowitz (2009-2013)
  • William E. Kovacic (2008-2009)
  • Deborah P. Majoras (2004-2008)
  • Timothy Muris (2001-2004)
  • Daniel Oliver (1986-1989)
  • James C. Miller III (1981-1985)
  • Calvin J. Collier (1976-1977) 

The year 2014 marks 100 years since President Woodrow Wilson signed the Federal Trade Commission Act, which established the Commission and still serves as the keystone of its efforts to protect American consumers.          

The Federal Trade Commission works for consumers to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices and to provide information to help spot, stop, and avoid them. To file a complaint in English or Spanish, visit the FTC’s online Complaint Assistant or call 1-877-FTC-HELP (1-877-382-4357). The FTC enters complaints into Consumer Sentinel, a secure, online database available to more than 2,000 civil and criminal law enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad. The FTC’s website provides free information on a variety of consumer topics. Like the FTC on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and subscribe to press releases for the latest FTC news and resources.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *